The Richard Tyner Scholarship

Established in the fall of 2015 by University of Iowa alumnus, Richard Tyner, the intent of the Tyner Scholarship is to offer financial support and recognition to current in-state University of Iowa students who were able to qualify for and enter the Honors Program by becoming more engaged and academically successful early on in their university career.


Applicants must:
  • be a graduate of an Iowa high school,
  • in their first, second, or third year of study at the University of Iowa (at the time of application),
  • be a full-time student (enrolled in a minimum of 12 semester hours at the time of application), and
  • not be a recipient of a major scholarship* or award, such as the Old Gold Scholarship. 
    • *major scholarship is defined one that awards $5,000 or more per year
  • Preference will be given to applicants who are residents of a small town (defined as less than 10,000 in population).
dick tyner


As senior counsel at Norton Rose Fulbright, Mr. Tyner practices in the firm's corporation, banking and business group. He has twenty five years of experience living and practicing in Saudi Arabia. Mr. Tyner's legal experience in Saudi Arabia includes advising clients on formation of limited liability companies in the industrial and service sectors, formation of branch offices and professional companies, preparation of contracts for multijurisdictional transactions, advising on labor matters, litigation of disputes and arbitrations involving complex insurance claims, negotiation and termination of distributorships, and advising on competition law, environmental regulations and other aspects of Saudi law. Mr. Tyner has also practiced law in Jeddah, Paris and San Francisco.

Professional Activities

  • California State Bar Association (Admitted to practice in 1979) (not admitted in Saudi Arabia)
  • American Bar Association, member

Educational Background

  • 1979 - J.D., Yale Law School, author of Wars of National Liberation in Africa and Palestine: Self-Determination for Peoples or for Territories? 5 Yale Studies in World Public Order 274 (1978-1979).
  • 1975 - Ph.D., International Relations, London School of Economics, Doctoral Thesis: The Concept of the Armed People in France, 1870-1871.
  • 1971 - M.A., Government, University of Manchester, England, Thesis: A Comparative Study of the Theory and Practice of Insurgency and Counterinsurgency Warfare.
  • 1970 - B.A., summa cum laude, Honors Political Science and Honors French, University of Iowa
  • Richard was selected as a Marshall Scholar in 1970.

University of Iowa Honors

  • Outstanding Freshman Honors Student, 1967
  • Outstanding Sophomore Honors Student, 1968
  • Graduated First in the Honors Program, May 1970
  • Phi Eta Sigma, member
  • Phi Beta Kappa, member
  • Omicron Delta Kappa, member
  • Recipient of Honors Old Gold Scholarships

Army ROTC at University of Iowa

  • Pershing Rifles, 1966 to 1968
  • Outstanding Freshman Cadet, 1967
  • Outstanding Senior Cadet, 1970
  • Outstanding Senior Cadet, Academic Achievement and Campus Leadership, 1970
  • Commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in the US Army in May 1970