Honors Steering Committee


Powers and duties of the Honors Steering Committee include providing direction on honors education at Iowa, advising on major policies for Honors at Iowa, and serving as representatives of the Honors Program in their departments or units. Meetings usually occur twice each fall and spring semester. The Honors Director prepares the agendas, chairs meetings, and keeps records as the committee finds useful. Any member may offer items for discussion as the Honors Steering Committee sees fit.


Selection of the Honors Steering Committee is to represent major campus constituencies of the Honors Program. It includes the Honors Director, the Honors Associate Director, faculty representatives from all five of the degree-granting undergraduate colleges, as well as a student representative from the Honors at Iowa population. It also includes representatives from the Belin-Blank International Center for Gifted Education and Talent Development and the Office of Admissions. Faculty members serve three-year terms, which are renewable once. Appointment is by the Honors Director after consultation with college deans or their representatives.

Current Committee Members:

  • Susan Assouline, Director, Belin-Blank International Center for Gifted Education and Talent Development
  • Sarah Bond, Associate Professor, Classics Department, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  • Mary Cohen, Associate Professor, Teaching & Learning, College of Education
  • Ellen Cram, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs, Associate Professor, Nursing
  • Logan Drake, Honors Program Student Representative
  • Tori Forbes, Associate Professor, Chemistry Department, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  • Brent Gage, Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management
  • Karen Heimer, Professor, Sociology Department, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  • Emily Hill, Associate Director, Honors Program 
  • Kirk Kluver, Director, Admissions
  • Anton Kruger, Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering, College of Engineering
  • John Murry, Professor, Marketing Department, Tippie College of Business
  • Art Spisak, Director, Honors Program 
  • Ingrid Ukstins, Associate Professor, Earth & Environmental Sciences Department, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences