University of Iowa

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a graduate degree in the United Kingdom. Up to forty Scholars are selected each year to study at graduate level at an UK institution in any field of study. As future leaders, with a lasting understanding of British society, Marshall Scholars strengthen the enduring relationship between the British and American peoples, their governments and their institutions. Marshall Scholars are talented, independent and wide-ranging, and their time as Scholars enhances their intellectual and personal growth. Their direct engagement with Britain through its best academic programs contributes to their ultimate personal success.

Applicants for Campus Nomination should establish an online portfolio within the Marshall Scholarship online system by 12 NOON on September 6, 2017

Submitting recommendations for the Marshall Scholarship at the Campus Nomination level: 

If you are submitting a letter to the Undergraduate Fellowships Committee for a Campus Nomination process, we ask that you share your letter with us electronically at by 12 NOON on September 6, 2017.  DRAFT versions of recommendations are accepted by the UFC at the campus nomination level.  Three recommendations must be included in each campus applicant’s materials in order to be effectively evaluated. 

Additional Resources for applicants and recommenders: 

  • Are you a good match for the Marshall Scholarship? Review the Marshall's parameters for eligibility.
  • Review the Official 2017-18 Marshall Scholarship Competition Guidelines here.
  • Access UI Undergraduate Fellowships Guide for Marshall Recommenders

The University of Iowa has supported three successful Marshall Scholarship nominees, though we have had many students reach the finalist stage of this competition.


Brian Dean Taylor, 1987

Richard Tyner, 1970

John Beckerman, 1960


Jeffrey Ding, 2015 Finalist

Kyle Oskvig, 2012 Finalist

Meredith DeBoom, 2009 Finalist