University of Iowa


  • University of Iowa, B.S. with Highest Distinction and Honors in Microbology, 1994
  • Balliol College, Oxford University, B.A. in Physiology Sciences, 1996 and M.A. in Physiological Sciences, 2012
  • Washington University School of Medicine, M.D. 2000
  • Stanford University, Internship and Residency 2000-2003
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Gastroenterology-Hepatology Fellowship 2003-2006

Involvement and Recognition:

  • American College of Physicians Alison J. Whelan Book Award 2000 - presented for highest achievement in the field of internal medicine at Washington University School of Medicine
  • Alpha Omega Alpha Summer Research Fellowship 1997
  • Distinguished Alumni Scholarship at Washington University School of Medicine 1996
  • Rhodes Scholarship 1994
  • Hancher-Finkbine Medallion 1994
  • University of Iowa Collegiate Scholar 1994
  • Stephens Scholarship 1993 - awarded to one Phi Beta Kappa junior inductee annually
  • Phi Beta Kappa - Co-President
  • Omicron Delta Kappa
  • Phi Eta Sigma - freshman honors society
  • University of Iowa Presidential Scholarship 1990-1994
  • University of Iowa Undergraduate Scholar Assistantship 1990-1994
  • Assisted the Honors Program at University of Iowa with candidate interviews for Rhodes and Marshall Scholarships
  • Helped Honors at Iowa with the newly formed Presidential Scholars Program