University of Iowa

Announcing our 2019 Honors at Iowa Scholars

Each year, Honors identifies extraordinary graduating seniors across the University of Iowa for celebration as Honors at Iowa Scholars. While this is not a monetary award, this high recognition acclaims student work in and beyond the classroom, with an emphasis on the applicant’s knowledge, skill, and experience as well as outstanding academic performance, excellence within their chosen discipline(s), and any contributions made to the University community through performance, research, organizational leadership, volunteer service and intellectual or creative engagement.

The 2019 scholars will be honored at Honors Commendation Ceremony on Friday, May 10,2019 in MacBride Auditorium.

2019 Honors at Iowa Scholars

Tippie College of Business

Logan Drake, Economics, Ethics & Public Policy, Philosophy Dubuque, IA

College of Engineering

Madeline Beauchene, Biomedical Engineering, Ames, IA

Aaron Buelow, Biomedical Engineering, West Des Moines, IA

Ojas Pradhan, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science, West Des Moines, IA

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

  Mikaela Mallin, Biomedical Sciences, Dance, Waterloo, IA

Aleisha Norton, Biology, Psychology, Dubuque, IA

Liam Crawford, Computer Science, Philosophy, Stuart, IA

Angeline Vanle, Human Physiology, Sioux City, IA

Kathleen Kiesewetter - English, Art, Hanna City, IL

Meagan Woodard, Human Physiology, Mt. Pleasant, IA

Eli Bratsch-Prince, Political Science, Ames, IA

Jordan Hansen, Psychology, Communications Studies, Spencer, IA

Madeline Ungs, Human Physiology, Urbandale, IA

Cassidy Shubatt, Economics, Mathematics, Dubuque, IA

Austin Hughes, English and Creative Writing, Asian Languages and Literature, San Antonio, TX

Melissa Lauer, Art, English and Creative Writing, Des Moines, IA

Gustave Stewart, Political Science, Economics, Social Science Analytics, Iowa City, IA

Elizabeth Sheridan, English, Denver, IA

Eilidh Spery, English, Lakewood, CO

Nicholas Dolan, English, Des Moines, IA

Mila Kaut, Gender, Women’s and Sexuality Studies, History, Music, Des Moines, IA


For more information about our Honors at Iowa Scholars contact:

Kelly Thornburg at 319.335.1874 or

Download a printable version of this announcement:PDF iconAnnouncing_Honors_at_Iowa_2019_HAISA.pdf