University of Iowa

Each year, the University of Iowa chapters of Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) and Mortar Board honor societies present an award to two of the finest educators at the University of Iowa. The James N. Murray Award is presented to a tenure-track faculty member who has not yet received tenure, while the Marion L. Huit Award is presented to a tenured faculty member.

The Beta Iota Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa established the James N. Murray Award in 1985 to honor one of its prized alumni. The award honors the late professor and chair of the University of Iowa Department of Political Science by celebrating his interaction with undergraduate students. The Murray Award honors a tenure-track faculty member who has not yet received tenure, typically a younger scholar with less than six years of service at the University of Iowa. Its recipients demonstrate outstanding rapport with students and create an exemplary classroom atmosphere.

The Marion L. Huit Faculty Award was established in 1978 to recognize M. L. Huit’s outstanding dedication and service to students of The University of Iowa during his tenure as dean of students. It is presented annually to a faculty member who best characterizes M. L. Huit’s contributions to University and community life. Dean Huit exemplified the qualities of dedication to, concern for, and interaction with students that make an excellent educator. 

Nominations may be submitted by anyone in the University of Iowa community. Collaboration between students and faculty is encouraged in the nomination process. The winner of each award will be announced at the annual Finkbine Dinner for Representative Student Leaders, held in April.

Should any questions arise, please contact the Mortar Board representative or ODK Representative through the Center for Student Involvement and Leadership (CSIL).

Murray and Huit Faculty Award Recipients


Murray – David Bradley Wright

Huit – Vicki Hesli Claypool


Murray – Stella Elias

Huit – Ana Rodriguez-Rodriguez


Murray – Sarah Vigmostad

Huit -- Dennis Maki


Murray – Sandra Daack-Hirsch

Huit – Gregory K. Friestad


Murray - Omar Valerio-Jiménez

Huit - Angela Onwuachi-Willig


Murray - Lena M. Hill

Huit - Carolyn J. Brown


Murray - Anton Kruger

Huit – Gene F. Parkin