University of Iowa

Honors' 2017 Scholar Advocate Award Winner:

Martha Kirby, Senior Academic Advisor, Department of Political Science

Martha is an extraordinary collaborator and scholar advocate. Astute and proactive, she has a keen eye and a depth of experience which are invaluable to me, to our students, and to the university. She makes us all more competitive. Her investment in our students as an advisor and mentor surpasses expectation and strengthens both our fellowships initiative and the Honors Program as a whole. Kelly Thornburg, Director of Scholar Development

What is this award?

Our Scholar Advocate Award was created to acknowledge the critical role faculty and staff play in the cultivation and preparation of competitive applicants for national scholarships and fellowships.  While students must come to the process with a distinctive combination of talent, knowledge and skill, it is so often a research mentor or thesis advisor who connects them with our Director of Scholar Development or encourages them to apply for campus nomination.  Once students are aware of an opportunity and choose to pursue nomination, it is often the clearly articulated support of a a professor, investigator or campus leader which illuminates a selection committee’s understanding of an applicant’s potential and elevates their application portfolio.

The Scholar Advocate Award is traditionally presented at our annual Recognition Ceremony in April.  Each recipient receives a financial award of $500, as well as an engraved memento to commemorate the achievement. 

Past Recipients:

2016 - Department of Physics, University of Iowa

2015 - Blaine Greteman, Associate Professor, Department of English, University of Iowa