To commemorate students who graduate from the University of Iowa with University Honors and Honors in their majors, we gather at the end of each spring semester for the Honors Commendation Ceremony. Honors staff and college representatives bestow honorary regalia to recognize our students' extraordinary academic achievements.

Commendation Ceremony Group
The 2017 Honors Commendation Ceremony

was held Friday, May 12th at 6:00 PM at the West High Auditorium, 2901 Melrose Avenue, Iowa City, IA 52246

Those in attendance include:

  • Graduating seniors from Engineering, Nursing, Business, and Liberal Arts & Sciences
  • Collegiate Representatives from Engineering, Nursing, Business, and Liberal Arts & Sciences
  • Honors Professional Staff, Faculty, and Alumni

Ceremonies from Past Years

  • Keynote Faculty Speaker: Professor Steve Duck
  • Keynote Student Speaker: Rachel Zuckerman, Political Science, Journalism & Mass Comm., Class of 2017
  • Keynote Faculty Speaker: Associate Professor Rachel Williams (Watch it on YouTube)
  • Keynote Student Speaker: Jeffrey Ding, Economics and Political Science, Class of 2016 (Watch it on YouTube)
  • Keynote Faculty Speaker: Ambassador Ron McMullen
  • Keynote Student Speaker: Quinn Hejlik, History and International Studies, Class of 2015
  • Keynote Speaker: Tom Niblock
  • Keynote Student Speaker: Nicholas Rolston, Physics and Mathematics, Class of 2014  (Read it in Adobe)
  • Keynote Student Speaker: Elizabeth Schorsch, History and Educational Foundations & Policy, Class of 2013  (Read it in Adobe)
  • Photo Album