University of Iowa

Role of the Board
UIHP Alumni Advisory Board

The University of Iowa Honors Program Advisory Board provides advice and support to Honors at Iowa staff, faculty, and administrators. Members serve as representatives of and advocates for the program, our mission, and our initiatives at local and national events. Members build connections among our students, alumni, and the community at large to strengthen the external support of the program, and work together to enhance the undergraduate experience for honors students at Iowa.

The UIHP Advisory Board gathers twice annually, over the phone in April and on campus in October, to discuss important topics that impact the Honors Program at Iowa. Additionally, select members serve on sub-committees focused on specific program initiatives. The full UIHP Advisroy Board Charter can be read here.

Members of the Board

Susan Assouline, Class of 1975
Merideth Bentley, Class of 2002
Nick Colangelo
Susan Hagan, Class of 1990
Ali Husain, Class of 1994
Emily Hill
Judy Lewis, Class of 1968 
Tanya Uden-HolmanClass of 1987
Tom Niblock, Class of 2007
Jacek Pruski
Pat Rolston, Class of 1978
Kate Bushman Smith
Art Spisak
Richard Tyner, Class of 1970
Brett Williams, Class of 1983
Lana Zak, Class of 2000
David Hamod, Class of 1981

Member Bios

Susan Assouline

Susan Assouline
Director, UI Belin-Blank Center for Gifted Education and Talent Development

B.S. in General Science, The University of Iowa 1975
E.D.S. in School Psychology, The University of Iowa 1984
Ph.D. in Education, The University of Iowa 1988



Merideth Bentley

Meredith Bentley
Attorney, Washington DC

University of Iowa, B.A. in Global Studies (Honors) and Russian 2002
Berkeley Law School, J.D. 2005



Nick Colangelo

Dean Emeritus, College of Education

Susan Hagan

Susan Hagan
Executive Director, Planned Giving, the University of Iowa Center for Advancement 

University of Iowa B.A. in History (Honors) and Russian 1990
University of Iowa College Law, J.D. 1994




Ali Husain

Ali Husain
Frederick Gastroenterology Associates

University of Iowa, B.S. in Microbology (Honors) 1994
Oxford University, B.A. in Physiology Sciences, 1996 and M.A. in Physiological Sciences 2012
Washington University School of Medicine, M.D. 2000



Emily Hill



University of North Dakota, B.A. English and Honors 2008
University of North Dakota, M.A. English 2011
University of North Dakota, ABD in Educational Foundations and Research


Judy Lewis

Emeritus Professor, Public Health Sociologist, University of Connecticut School of Medicine

University of Iowa, B.S. with Honors and High Distinction in Sociology and Psychology, 1968
Yale University, MPhil in Sociology 1973



Tanya Uden-Holman

Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education and Dean of the University College, University of Iowa

University of Iowa, B.A. (1987), M.A. (1989), and Ph.D. in Sociology 1992





Tom Niblock

Tom Niblock headshot
Foreign Service Officer, U.S. Department of State

University of Iowa B.B.A. in Economics (Honors) and B.A. in Religious Studies 2007
Princeton University, M.P.A. 2009 


Jacek Pruski

Jacek Pruski headshot
Policy Director, America Forward

University of Iowa B.S. and B.A. (Honors) 2004
Stanford University, J.D. and M.P.P. 2007





Pat Rolston

Pat Rolston headshot
Managing Partner, Federal Group

University of Iowa, B.B.A. 1978



Kate Bushman Smith

Practicing Attorney, Washington DC


University of Iowa, B.S. in Political Science and Economics 2001
University of California Los Angeles, J.D. 2004


Art Spisak

Art Spisak

Loyola University, Chicago: Ph.D. in Classics



Richard Tyner

Richard Tyner headshot
Attorney, Norton Rose Fulbright

University of Iowa, B.A. in Political Science and French (Honors) 1970
University of Manchester, England, M.A. in Government 1971
London School of Economics, Ph.D. International Relations 1975
Yale Law School, J.D. 1979


Brett Williams

Brett Williams headshot
Senior Staff Research Engineer, Lockheed Martin (retired)

University of Iowa, B.S. in Physics (Radar and Optical Sensor Technology) 1983




Lana Zak

Photo of Lana Zak

ABC News, White House Press Corps


University of Iowa, B.A. in Journalism and Mass Communication and Political Science 2000
Harvard University, M.A. in Public Policy, International Security and Political Economy from the John F. Kennedy School of Government

David Hamod

David Hamod
President and CEO, National U.S.- Arab Chamber of Commerce

University of Iowa, B.A. in Political Science with Honors 1981
Johns Hopkins, M.A. in Advanced International Studies