University of Iowa


Each year, selectors representing the University of Iowa’s five undergraduate colleges and a broad spectrum of academic disciplines come together to review hundreds of applications, looking for clear evidence of extraordinary intellectual curiosity, exceptional academic ability, and authentic connection to community in the words and experiences students share with us.

After the careful consideration of over 500 applicants by our faculty and staff committees, we are excited to offer the Presidential Scholarship, the University of Iowa’s most prestigious undergraduate merit scholarship, to 43 of the most promising young scholars in our state and country.


Subrat Acharya, Bettendorf, IA

Allison Andreasen, Johnston, IA

Lucy Brown, West Des Moines, IA

Leah Brownsberger, North Liberty, IA

Abigail Davison, Bettendorf, IA

Abbey Fitzsimmons, Marion, IA

Donald Gee, Johnston, IA

Sophia Gilbert, Atkins, IA

Emily Hagedorn, Ankeny, IA

Pranav Krishnamurthy, Iowa City, IA

Jeevanjot Kapur, West Des Moines, IA

Christopher Kenefick, Muscatine, IA

Junhee Lee, Iowa City, IA

Kirsten Lucy, Dubuque, IA

Jack Lynn, Bettendorf, IA

Varun Myneni, Clive, IA

Hieu Nguyen, Coralville, IA

Anvay Pradhan, West Des Moines, IA

Arshaq Saleem, Iowa City, IA

Ethan Seylar, Coralville, IA

Katherine Srail, Johnston, IA

Samalya Thenuwara, Iowa City, IA

Ann Thomas, Clive, IA

Ethan Trepka, Iowa City, IA

Elly Vinton, Indianola, IA

Sophia Xiao, Bettendorf, IA

Victoria Yin, Des Moines, IA


Kyle Petrie, San Diego, CA


Michela Argue, Colorado Springs, CO

Tessa Lapointe, Colorado Springs, CO

Brielle Thomas, Grand Junction, CO


Claire Calkins, Chicago, IL

Allison Galitz, Glen Ellyn, IL

Enrique Eguiguren, Chicago, IL

Katherine Moore, Rock Island, IL

Pranav Raman, Hoffman Estates, IL

Ryan Summers, Plainfield, IL

Mikayla Vogt, Schaumburg, IL


Afton Aiken, Maple Grove, MN

Michael Thomas, Rochester, MN

South Carolina

Aidan Forster, Taylors, SC


Jennifer Cape, Brookfield, WI

Jessica Wang, Madison, WI 


For more information, visit or

Download a printable version of this announcement at PDF icon2018 Presidential Scholars - Web Announcement.pdf