Each year, selectors representing the University of Iowa’s five undergraduate colleges and a broad spectrum of academic disciplines come together to review hundreds of applications, looking for clear evidence of extraordinary intellectual curiosity, exceptional academic ability, and authentic connection to community in the words and experiences students share with us.

After the careful consideration of over 800 applicants by our faculty and staff committees, we are excited to offer the Presidential Scholarship, the University of Iowa’s most prestigious undergraduate merit scholarship to 32 of the most promising young scholars in our state and country.

Recipients for fall 2017 include:

Elizabeth Ash, West Des Moines, IA

Anne Borelli, Highlands Ranch, CO

Aastha Chandra, Cedar Falls, IA

Vance Davis, Maryville, TN

Anthony DeSalvo, Davenport, IA

Margaret Evans, Mill Creek, WA

Timothy Foley, Clive, IA

Kate Forer, Carbondale, IL

Brian Gu, West Des Moines, IA

Raneem Hamad, Iowa City, IA

Elissa Hennings, Bettendorf, IA

Carly Heying, Dubuque, IA

Elias Kim, Indianola, IA

Megan Lenss, Cedar Rapids, IA

Caitlyn Martin, Vinton, IA

Abby McCullough, West Des Moines, IA

Caroline Meek, Kansas City, KS

Gabriel Mintzer, West Des Moines, IA

Alexa Murphy, Cary, IL

Katarina Newcamp, Cedar Rapids, IA

Guowei Qi, West Des Moines, IA

Aaron Rib, Clearwater, FL

Margaret Sleeth, Madison, WI

Lauren Strohs, Overland Park, KS

Emily Suen, Bettendorf, IA

Andrew Swiston, Glen Ellyn, IL

Yangyidan Tang, Coralville, IA

Lillian Wen, Topeka, KS

Lauren Williams, Cedar Falls, IA

Amy Yan, Iowa City, IA

Maya Younoszai, Denver, CO

Dean Ziegelman, Olathe, KS


For more information, visit http://honors.uiowa.edu/presidential-scholarship.

Download a printable version of this announcement at PDF icon2017 Presidential Scholars - Web Announcement.pdf